Provider FAQ

What is Texas Rising Star?

The Texas Rising Star program is “a voluntary, quality-based child care rating system of child care providers participating in the Texas Workforce Commission’s subsidized child care program.” TRS Certification is available to Licensed Center and Licensed and Registered Child Care Home providers who meet the certification criteria. The TRS Provider certification system offers three levels of certification (Two-Star, Three-Star, and Four-Star) to encourage providers to attain progressively higher certification requirements leading to a Four-Star level.

What is a Texas Rising Star Certified Provider?

A Texas Rising Star (TRS) provider is a child care provider that has an agreement to serve Texas Workforce Commission (TWC)-subsidized children and that voluntarily meets requirements that exceed the State’s Minimum Child Care Licensing (CCL) Standards.

Is my program eligible to participate in TRS?

Licensed centers, licensed home-based programs, registered home-based programs, and licensed school age programs are eligible to become TRS certified if they meet certain eligibility criteria. Learn more about TRS eligibility.

How can my program apply to TRS?

If you would like to apply to be a TRS Certified Provider, please review the information on Getting Ready to Apply to TRS. Then, begin your application by submitting your TRS Interest Form.

Who participated in the 2015 redevelopment of the TRS Guidelines?

Many stakeholders participated in the development process for the revised TRS Guidelines, approved by the Texas Workforce Commission on January 27, 2015. Learn more about the TRS workgroup and redevelopment process.

Where can I find the current TRS Certification Guidelines?

You can download the TRS Provider Certification Guidelines on this webpage.

Where can I find my Local Workforce Development Board?

Find your local workforce development board on this webpage.

My program is nationally accredited. Can my program apply to be TRS certified?

Yes, nationally accredited programs can participate in TRS. Some nationally accredited programs will receive an initial TRS certification of 4 stars, but must complete the TRS application process. All nationally accredited providers are subject to TRS requirements for CCL minimum licensing standards and are required to comply with the procedures for the annual TRS monitoring. Learn more on this webpage.

Who can I contact?

If you have questions about Texas Rising Star, please contact us!